PlanSmart NJ Awards and Past Winners:

Regional Planning and Community Achievement Award:

Vivian E. Baker of NJ Transit, 2015
Jon Carnegie of the Voorhees M. Transportation Center at Rutgers, 2015
Mary K. Murphy of the North Jersey Transportation Authority, 2015
John Sheridan (posthumously) of the Cooper Health System, 2014
Eleanor Horne and Becky Taylor of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail, 2013
Ocean Burlington Joint Land Use Study, 2012
Christopher J. Paladino, DEVCO for the Gateway Project, 2011
Thomas Corcoran, Cooper’s Ferry Redevelopment, 2010
New Jersey Transit and PANYNJ for the ARC Tunnel, 2009
The River Route Advisory Committee and Burlington County, 2008
Ralph LaRossa, PSE&G, 2007
Maher Terminals, accepted by Sam Crane, 2006
J&J, accepted by Tom Gorrie, 2005
Anthony R. Coscia, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, 2004
Peter Cantu, Plainsboro Township Mayor, 2003
City of Trenton, 2002
Willingboro Town Center, 2001
Train Link Project, Greater Mercer TMA, Corporate and Municipal Sponsors, 2000
Lawrenceville Main Street Program, 1999
DEVCO, for redevelopment in New Brunswick, 1998
Washington Township, for Town Center Plan, 1997
American-Re Insurance, for BEES program, 1996
Ron Berman, developer, for redevelopment in Trenton and New Brunswick, 1995
Somerset Alliance for the Future, 1994
Harry Sayen, former MSM Chairman, 1993
The State Planning Commission, 1992
Martin and Liz Johnson, Isles, Inc, 1991
Jim Amon, D & R Canal Commission, 15th Anniversary, 1990
Hazel Gluck, NJ Commissioner of Transportation, for Transportation Policy, 1989
Bruce Coe, NJBIA, for SLERP Commission, 1988
Maureen Ogden, Assemblywoman, for Wetlands Protection Act, 1987
Alan Landis, developer, for Tower Center/Carnegie Center, 1986
John Heldrich, J & J, for New Brunswick Tomorrow, 1985
Gerald Stockman, State Senator, for State Planning, 1984
Lou Gambaccini, NJ Commissioner of Transportation, for Transportation Policy, 1983

Outstanding Individual Leadership in Planning Award:
Thomas A. Bracken of the NJ State Chamber of Commerce, 2015
Chuck Richman of the New Jersey Department of Community Affairs, 2014
Dr. Ed Salmon of Salmon Ventures, Ltd., 2013
Caren Franzini of the New Jersey Economic Development Authority, 2012
Christiana Foglio, for leadership in affordable housing, 2010
Robert Wolfe, Forrestal Center for a lifetime of community service in land use Planning, 2009
Eleanor Horne, Educational Testing Service, 2008
Thomas Harvey, Cranbury Township Planning Board Chairman, 2007
Institute for Advanced Study accepted by Dr. Peter Goddard, 2006
Candace Ashmun, Association of New Jersey Environmental Commissions, 2005
Joseph Maraziti, Jr., Maraziti, Falcon and Healey, 2002
Commissioner James Weinstein, NJ DOT, 2001
George Taber/Don Wilson, NJ Biz, 2000
Bob Prunetti, Mercer County Executive, 1998
Joseph Taylor, Matrix Development Group, 1997
Van Zandt Williams, Jr., Princeton University, 1996

Environmental Achievement Award:
NRG Energy, 2015
Michele Byers, NJ Conservation Foundation, 2014
Linda Mead, D&R Greenway, 2013
Ridgewood Green LLC and Monmouth University, 2012
Debby Turner-Fox, Salem County Improvement Authority for alternative energy; Jed Richardson, J & J for solar array; and Avi Avidan, Avidan Management for rooftop solar array, 2011
Nelson Ferreira, Ferreira Construction Company, 2010
The Salvation Army, Kroc Corps Community Center for environmental clean up, 2009
Richard Dovey, President, Atlantic County Utilities Authority, 2008
Ted Stiles (posthumously) for open space planning, 2007

Economic Development Achievement Award:
AeroFarms, 2015
Choose NJ, 2014
Robbinsville Township and Matrix Development Group, 2013
Caren Franzini of the New Jersey Economic Development Authority, 2012
David Samson, Port Authority of NY & NJ for the decision to raise the Bayonne Bridge, 2011
James Kehoe, Local Union 322, 2010
Rutgers Food Innovation Center, 2009
The Honorable Thomas D. Carver, 2008
Caren Franzini, New Jersey Economic Development Authority, 2007

Regional Equity Achievement Award:
The Pascale Sykes Foundation, 2015
Anthony L. Marchetta of the NJ Housing Mortgage and Finance Agency, 2015
Jennifer Maier, Union Beach for their redevelopment efforts after Superstorm Sandy, 2013
Sandra Persichetti, Princeton Community Housing, 2012
Matthew A. Reilly, MEND, 2011
South Orange/Maplewood Community Coalition on Race, 2010
Dr. DeForest “Buster” Soaries, 2009
Calvary Community Development Corp., accepted by Reverend Dr. Edward W. Dorn, 2008
Peter J. O’Connor, Fair Share Housing, 2007

Resource Efficiency Achievement Award:
The College of New Jersey and PRC for Campus Town at TCNJ, 2015
Fred Dohn of ARC International North America/Cardinal International, 2014
Bo Farkas of Prologis for redeveloping a superfund site in Jersey City, 2013
Novo Nordisk and partners, 2012
Barry Rabner, Princeton HealthCare System, 2011
Harrison Waterfront Redevelopment Project, 2010
Atlantic City Convention and Visitors Authority, 2009
The New York Shipping Association, accepted by Frank McDonough, 2008
Jack Lettiere, Former Commissioner of NJ Department of Transportation, 2007

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter
For Email Marketing you can trust